SUSQUEHANNA, PA – Dan Pompey made his return to racing at Penn Can Speedway in style on Friday night. Pompey had several different engine issues early in the season and after being absent at the track for several weeks he was able to take the checkered flag first in the 30 lap Modified main event. Pompey of Kingsley, PA was followed at the finish by Nick Petrilak of Greenfield Township, PA; Alan Rudalavage of Newton Lake, PA; Brian Malcolm of Lake Ariel, PA and Paul Rooney of Thompson, PA. Other winners at the track were Mike Schane (602 Sportsman), Shane Wolf (Street Stock), Tommy Groover (Factory Stocks), Jared Green (600cc Modified), Andy Bolles (Four Cylinder), John Smith (Wingless Sprints), Liam Jackson (Junior) and Bob Boughton (Senior).

Alan Barker and Dan Pompey led the field to the green flag for the headline Modified event. Pompey surged to the lead with Barker working the inside trying to snatch the top spot. The lead duo pulled away with Rudalavage, Jamie Bedford and Petrilak giving chase. Barker kept Pompey in his sights as they raced side by side and nose to tail with Pompey holding a slight lead. On the fifth lap Barker got the better of Pompey and cleared him to take over the top spot. Pompey tried to battle back but Barker was too strong in the Klinger No. 77. Behind the top three there was a pair of tight battles for fourth between Bedford and Petrilak and for sixth between Brian Malcolm and Danny Tyler. Following a yellow flag Barker still lead but Pompey had Rudalavage nipping at his quarter panel. At the halfway mark Barker still lead over Pompey, Rudalavage, Petrilak and Malcolm. Rudalavage kept trying the inside of Pompey but the Monteforte Fireworks No. 11 had too much momentum on the outside. Barker seemed headed to another victory but as the five to go sign was displayed Barker slowed suddenly with a flat tire. On the ensuing restart Pompey got the jump Rudalavage shoved the front end allowing Petrilak to zip by into second. Pompey pulled away from Petrilak in the final laps to take his first won since opening night in 2018. “The car is feeling better but we got a gift tonight we were going to finish second.” said Pompey in victory lane “The way our year has gone I’ll take it. I have to thank all our sponsors and Main Engines for helping us through this year.”

Petrilak finished a solid second place in the Starfursky’s NAPA No. 72. “We are happy with the car tonight we were just lacking a little bit.” said Petrilak “We’ll take a second tonight.”

Rudalavage held on for third in his 2019 debut at Penn Can in his Quinns Supermarkets No.145. “It’s not a bad finish for our first night back at Penn Can.” said Rudalavage “On the last restart Pomepy changed his line a little and I missed my entry to the turn and pushed up the track and let Petrilak get by.”

Malcolm and ninth starter Paul Rooney completed the top five the rest of the top ten were Mike Loney, Tyler, Bedford, Chris Hunsinger and Barker. Heat races were won by Barker and Pompey.

Michael Mondak led early in the 602 Sportsman main with the pack nipping at his heels. Ray Leonard went to the lead on lap three and brought Mike Schane along with him. On the fifth lap Leonard and Schane battled side by side Schane got the best of him and took the lead entering turn three. Schane quickly started to pull away from Leonard and Frank Payne. Schane had a close call with a lapped car as it suddenly slowed on the front stretch Schane got into the back of it but avoided getting hooked on him. Schane went on to take the win over Leonard, Payne, Tommy Oleski and Gene Beadle who grabbed fifth on the last lap.

The 600cc Modifieds had a good battle for the lead early between Bailey Boyd and Jared Green. Green got the better of Boyd on the inside of the speedway. Boyd tried hard on a late race restart and had his ride on just two wheels following that Green pulled away for the win over Boyd, Jamie Frantz, Chace Scutt and Tyler Smith. Alex Boughton held off a fast closing Bob Boughton in the Senior class while Liam Jackson was a new winner in the Junior division.

Shane Wolf dominated in the Street Stock division pulling away to a huge lead at two different times in the event he was followed at the finish by George Miller, Jim Sykes, Kyle Stark and Paul Conklin. In a caution plagued Factory Stock event that saw just three car finish Tommy Groover survived and led every lap Dusty Decker was second and Nate Hill placed third.

In the Wingless Sprints John Smith rolled to the win leading all the laps Don Smith and Brandon Clapperton followed at the finish. Nick Kennedy seemed poised to grab another Four Cylinder win but slowed with engine issues handing the lead to Andy Bolles. Bolles took the win over Rich Wagner, David Fox, Jeff Sterling and Lynn Highhouse.

Notes: A helmet drive was done in the Grandstand and Pit Area to benefit Will Eastman who was injured last week. Several drivers also donated their winnings on Friday to Eastman as he recovers. On Sunday August 25th a Chicken BBQ benefit for Will Eastman will be held at the Speedway. More info on the benefit will be released in the coming weeks on Facebook.

Penn Can Speedway will be back in action Friday night August 9th with Kids Backpack night along with racing action for the Modifieds, 602 Sportsman, Street Stocks, Factory Stocks, 600cc Modifieds, Four Cylinders, Wingless Sprints and Juniors. Hot laps will start at 7 PM and racing beginning at 7:30 for all the latest updates find us on Facebook. Penn Can Speedway is located on Route 171 in Susquehanna, PA.

Penn Can Speedway 8-2-19 Results

Sunoco Racing Fuels Modified Feature Finish: Dan Pompey, Nick Petrilak, Alan Rudalavage, Brian Malcolm, Paul Rooney, Mike Loney, Danny Tyler, Jamie Bedford, Chris Hunsinger, Alan Barker, Brad Shaffer, Nick Pecko, Mike Nagel.

Stone Bros. Automotive 602 Sportsman Feature Finish: Mike Schane, Ray Leonard, Frank Payne, Tommy Oleski, Gene Beadle, Brandon Oleski, Michael Mondak, Jim O’Hara, Ryan Stone, Jack Overbaugh, Devon Zona, Matt Brewer.

Insinger Performance Street Stock Feature Finish: Shane Wolf, George Miller, Jim Sykes, Kyle Stark, Paul Conklin, Nate Shay, Ned Fitch.

Factory Stocks Feature Finish: Tommy Groover, Dusty Decker, Nate Hill, Kevin McDonad, Alecia Towner, Rich Wagner, Sheldon Whitman, Jordan Towner, Charlie Towner, Noah Seidel.

Leeward Construction 600cc Modified Feature Finish: Jared Green, Bailey Boyd, Jamie Frantz, Chace Scutt, Tyler Smith, Doug Lattner, Nolan Smith, Jeff Baldwin, Ali Scutt, Travis Rooney, Dominic Amato, Ayden Morgan.

Four Cylinder Feature Finish: Andy Bolles, Rich Wagner, David Fox, Jeff Sterling, Lynn Highhouse, Brent Shaddock, Brian Salmini, Nick Kennedy, Dick Shaddock, Phil Burns, Jason Colwell, Ronnie Welch, Steve Motichka, Cory Brown, Jason Colwell Jr.

Wingless Sprints Feature Finish: John Smith, Don Smith, Brandon Clapperton.

Cobble Creek Landscape and Florist Juniors Feature Finish: Liam Jackson, Trevor Houghton.

Cobble Creek Landscape and Florist Seniors Feature Finish: Alex Boughton, Bob Boughton.

Recent Posts